Skip to main content

2016 Clinton Hunger Leadership Award...


2016 Clinton Hunger Leadership Award Application Period Now Open

For the eighth year, undergraduate students across the globe with a passion to end hunger are invited to apply for the Clinton Hunger Leadership Award. Named in honor of President Bill Clinton for his commitment to humanitarian causes, including the eradication of hunger, the award recognizes outstanding leadership in the movement to end hunger. Stop Hunger Now and the NC State University Center for Student Leadership, Ethics and Public Service (CSLEPS) will accept video applications from Sept. 4 to Nov. 6, 2015.
The cash award is co-sponsored by Stop Hunger Now and NC State University CSLEPS. This year’s award will be presented to the winner at the Universities Fighting World Hunger Summit at the University of Missouri in Columbia, MO in February 2016.
Award Criteria:
Must be an enrolled student at an accredited post-secondary institution
Demonstrated leadership in the fight against hunger
Commitment to a life of service in the area of hunger, poverty reduction, or related discipline
Deadline to post video November 6th, 2015
How to Apply:
Submit a 3-5 minute video detailing your vision for a world without hunger as well as your efforts to provide leadership in this area.
Video should be creative and engaging (i.e. not a live video resume)
Include your email address at the end of your video as finalists will be contacted via email
Upload video to the William Jefferson Clinton Hunger Leadership Award Group on Vimeo
For instructions on uploading to a group, visit this link.
Top 5 video finalists will be chosen by a selection committee and asked to submit the following:
Applicant information form
Essays indicating an understanding of the cause of hunger and related issues
Letter of recommendation
Stop Hunger Now will provide a cash award for the recipient to use towards an educational experience that will advance their knowledge and understanding of hunger and related issues.
Previous Clinton Award winners are: Maria Rose Belding, American University (2015), Azeem Ahmed, Auburn University (2014), Brendan Rice University of Alabama (2013), Ryan O’Donnell from NC State (2012), Gavin Armstrong from University of Guelph (2011), Sarah Nam from Harvard (2010), and John Coggin from NC State University (2009).
For more information please contact Carolyn Turney at cturney(at)stophungernow(dot)org, or Melissa Barnes, at mvgreen(at)ncsu(dot)edu.